Discover the latest rally car news!

Eng best-placed BMW driver in eighth place at Sunday’s Nürburgring race

After Saturday’s double podium, the six BMW DTM drivers endured a difficult 16th race of the season at the Nürburgring (GER). Philipp Eng (AUT) finished in eighth place at the wheel of the ZF BMW M4 DTM, scoring four points in the overall standings. Timo Glock (GER, JiVS BMW M4 DTM) and Bruno Spengler (CAN, BMW Bank M4 DTM) also reached the top-ten,  finishing in ninth and tenth positions. Jamie Green (GBR) secured the win on Sunday. After finishing third, fellow Audi driver René Rast (GER) has now been confirmed as 2019 DTM champion.

Joel Eriksson (SWE, CATL BMW M4 DTM) and Sheldon van der Linde (RSA, Shell BMW M4 DTM) reached eleventh and 16th positions for BMW Team RBM at the Nürburgring. A drive-through penalty was imposed on van der Linde after a collision with Glock on the second lap.

An oil leak in the engine periphery forced Marco Wittmann (GER) to head for the pits to retire his Schaeffler BMW M4 DTM. The race in the Eifel mountains marked his 100th DTM appearance for BMW Team RMG. The two-time champion is the best-placed BMW driver in the overall standings, in third place with 182 points.

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Discover the latest rally cars and news                                                           

Discover more rally news & videos